Is disco dead?

20070822_fg19Remember these days? Fortunately I don’t. But I know that they existed.

I made a necklace yesterday that resembled the roller disco era (lol). I like the necklace, but it does look very “that 70s.” It’s a ladder design with two peyote tubes and one of my paper beads. I wanted to create the peyote tubes with colors that reflected the paper bead. Humorously, the colors also brought up memories from my past life as a roller disco queen.

The tubes are connected to an antiqued, gold-plated ladder chain. I had fun making this piece and had more fun laughing at the images it conjured up in my mind. Disco balls, rainbow legwarmers, chunky roller skates, feathered hair, shiny shirts . . . .

100_3197 100_3200 100_3196

On a serious note:
Below is a necklace I finished a few days ago. I used peyote stitch to capture this stone. The stone was a difficult shape to capture with bead weaving, but I had fun trying. I kept the colors neutral and opted for a metal chain (same chain I used above), rather than a beaded chain.

Thanks for visiting!

100_3205 100_3208 100_3210
4 thoughts on “Is disco dead?

  1. Thanks Alina for featuring me on your first interview!! I really love the intimate way it was done, very family and very us!! Looking forward to the next segment and looking forward to collaborating on my bags too! Peace and love and do the Peanuts Dance!!

Leave a Reply

