Easter and other written wordaerobics.

I was reading some bios on the freebie jewelry projects I get from an online blog and was turned off by how heavy it was with artist self-aggrandizement.

“I like an urban tribal look. As manufacturers started coming out with more and more interesting materials and chains, I responded and started incorporating them into my seed bead work. As an art form, there is a very feminine aspect to Steampunk, as well. Even with the growing interest in Gothic and vampiric ephemera, Steampunk is there in the shadows — no pun intended!”

Bla bla, bla bla, bla. And what the bleepety bleep is “urban tribal?” (Yeah, yeah, I know, and what the hell is bleepety bleep?) And this person’s jewelry prices are in the hundreds, upwards of six hundred dollars, to be exact. Six hundred? Am I missing something? Beadwoven Steampunk jewelry? Hey, I like Steampunk jewelry. But get real! Are you paying for the name? I like my name, but it ain’t that special!

I solemnly swear, and everyone who reads this post is my witness, that I will never get so freakishly serious about my craft that I feel the need to convince people that my jewelry is so special, I have to charge so much that you feel like a Hollywood celebrity when you wear it. I charge what the piece is worth, plus a little extra for my time. If you buy it, then that tells me that you like it, and that’s good enough for me.

On a different note, happy Easter! Despite all the political craziness and all the militant PC’s out there trying to bust everything worth celebrating, I still call it Easter. So, happy Easter!

I celebrated by creating this very, complex, wire-wrapped piece that incorporates new-found objects in the shape of bunny rabbits and glass beads. I feed my need to bead by mixing my metals, which I consider to be a fascinating technique that requires a refined crafting palette in order so as never to mix the wrong two metals with the wrong new-found objects. (Ha, ha, couldn’t help myself.)

100_3184

I used silver-plated pewter bunnies,

100_3190

freshwater pearls,

100_3187

sterling silver,

100_3186

czech glass beads,

100_3188

silver beads, and a sterling silver lobster clasp.

2 thoughts on “Easter and other written wordaerobics.

  1. Obviously, I have no idea who you were referring to, but do consider the following: 1) you’ve got to write something in the description, and after a while you make up weird names just to make things sound different and to keep from being boring, 2) price markup is mostly determined by your time and your popularity, so if a Hollywood starlet made a bangle bracelet and she earns $10m for one scene in a film, it’s going to be a super expensive bracelet, but if your 10 year old niece makes the same bracelet, it might cost $2. With that in mind, the web will always be full of people full of themselves because they’re more likely to write about themselves than shy people. And they’ll always be people over-charging, but they can only sell what someone is willing to pay for their work, so it all works out. Best of luck with your beading enterprise!

    • Hollywood has nothing to do with this person asking $600 dollars for a seed bead bracelet that probably didn’t take more than five hours to make. Not everyone is a hollywood superstar, although more and more people wish they were. I agree, she’s probably charging what people are willing to pay, that’s her perogative. I personally could never ask for more than something is essentially worth. I’m just a “wear it on my sleeves” kind of gal, that’s all. Thanks for your feedback!

Leave a Reply

